- Advertisment -
HomeAwardsJapanese debut ‘Rei’ leads Rotterdam winners

Japanese debut ‘Rei’ leads Rotterdam winners

Tanaka Toshihiko’s Rei received the highest prize on the 2024 Worldwide Movie Pageant Rotterdam (IFFR), taking house the €40,000 Tiger award at tonight’s closing ceremony (February 2).

The Japanese actor’s three-hour directorial debut explores human connection by a thirtysomething girl who embarks on a journey by the mountains and meets a deaf photographer. Toshihiko additionally stars and produced the movie which used largely non-professionals and college students within the solid and crew.

The jury, which included former IFFR director Marco Müller, mentioned of the movie: “[Toshihiko’s] energy depends on a collaborative surroundings centred on the actors, an consideration to the ability of recitation – and, maybe most significantly, a style for performative sequences that function as discrete models inside the general construction, however which usually resist appearing as the ability of the totally different chosen areas slowly emerges.”

- Advertisement -

Additionally sitting on the jury was Bosnian-Dutch filmmaker Ena Sendijarević, producer Nadia Turincev, Hong Kong filmmaker Herman Yau, and director Billy Woodberry.

Particular jury awards of €10,000 every got to Midhun Murali’s Kiss Wagon, an Indian thriller which makes use of combined media to research energy and faith; and Jaydon Martin’s Flathead, an Australian debut combining fiction and documentary to discover blue-collar life.

Kiss Wagon additionally acquired the Fipresci prize for a movie that “astounded” the jury with “epic superhero storytelling and its daring defying of cinematic conventions”.

See also  ‘Madame Luna’: Rotterdam Review

Different awards

The VRPO Large Display award was introduced to Oktay Baraheni’s The Previous Bachelor, an Iranian drama about two middle-aged brothers residing with their abusive father. Baraheni and the movie’s distributor obtain a €30,000 prize in addition to a assured theatrical launch within the Netherlands and a broadcast on Dutch TV by VPRO and NPO. 

Of their choice, the jury mentioned: “Exploring highly effective themes of patriarchy, misogyny, love, violence and tragedy, this movie is a masterclass in storytelling, by its gripping, nuanced dialogue, beautiful consideration to element and its improvement of pressure, which simmers all through the movie till it reaches boiling level within the closing, explosive act.”

Making up the Large Display Competitors jury had been Samina Khan, Sylvie de Leeuwe, Lisa van der Loos, Marcos Silva and Ella de Bruijn.

The Neptac award for greatest Asian function movie went to Ishan Shukla’s sci-fi animation Schirkoa: In Lies We Belief whereas the Youth Jury award was introduced to Lillah Halla’s abortion drama Levante.

Trade prizes had been introduced earlier this week with Polish animation venture Cherub triumphing on the CineMart co-production market.

- Advertisement -

The viewers award shall be introduced on Sunday (February 4) because the competition closes.

IFFR 2024 winners

Tiger Competitors award
Rei (Jap), dir. Tanaka Toshihiko

See also  ‘Wakhri’: Red Sea Review

Particular Jury awards
Kiss Wagon (Ind), dir. Midhun Murali
Flathead (Australia), dir. Jaydon Martin

VRPO Large Display award
The Previous Bachelor (Iran), dir. Oktay Baraheni

Fipresci award
Kiss Wagon (Ind), dir. Midhun Murali

Neptac award
Schirkoa: In Lies We Belief (Ind-Fr-Ger), dir. Ishan Shukla

Youth Jury award
Levante (Bra-Fr-Uru), dir. Lillah Halla

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most read

- Advertisment -